Study Abroad: The Best Decision!

If you are thinking about studying abroad, be inspired by what Georgia Lamothe got up to in the USA last year. Georgia is currently in her final year studying Sports and Exercise Science.  

If you are motivated to do something different, complete that study abroad application so you can begin your once in a life time journey!

Studying abroad has been something that I’ve always had in mind, and is one of the reasons that I chose to study at the University of Hertfordshire. Every year tens of thousands of students graduate, all competing for similar jobs. For me, studying abroad offered me not only an opportunity to differentiate myself from others, but a chance to embark on a once in a life-time experience.

Studying abroad is a decision that I will never regret or forget! It is one of the best decisions I have made. I mean, not many people can say they’ve experienced studying in a different education system and living in a completely different country for a whole year!

I studied at Kansas State University, in the United States of America. I always wanted to experience studying in America, based on what I saw in movies and due to studying a sports related degree. It was all and more than I imagined. Kansas State has a beautiful campus, situated in a college town called Manhattan. It is a Division I school, meaning that it is huge on sports; 55,000 people would attend the American football games a week!! Everyone was so friendly and accommodating, and I’ve made so many friends from all over the world!

gl1

Studying abroad allowed me to take a year out in a sense, to enable me to gather my thoughts on what my next step would be after university, and also to figure out and gain data for my research project in my final year at Hertfordshire. I was able to pick modules that I wouldn’t ever be able to take over here in the UK. For example, I study Sport and Exercise Science, but in America I was able study business related modules. I felt this was a good opportunity to expand my knowledge in different areas that could compliment my degree in the future.

The whole experience definitely shaped me into who I am today. You definitely grow and develop as a person, you are forced to become much more independent in that year. I would definitely encourage students to study abroad, it was one of my best years ever! Definitely give it some thought, even if you think it isn’t for you! You won’t regret it.

gl4

Written By: Georgia Lamothe.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

